A DAB will do it.

In the ever present pursuit of improving myself (Doug 2.0 I like to call it), I have decided to improve my cooking skills.  Up ’til now I have been comfortable with my two signature dishes: homemade mac ‘n’ cheese and pancakes from scratch.  However, I made one of those noble sacrifices we men occasionally make–I watched a chick-flick with my wife.  It was about Julia Child living in France and how she came to write her first book.  It was also about this lady who blogged about cooking through the entire Julia Child book. Since it was about writing and eating (two of my all time favorite things to do) I have to say that it was a pretty good movie.  I loved how everyone in the movie kept cramming food in their faces, not just taking polite little bites like people in movies usually do.

My wife became inspired to try new dishes now that we are in a house in a new state.  She’s very organized, my wife, and she is a really good cook.  I actually gained fifty pounds during the first ten years of our marriage (which I have since lost thanks to a healthier life-style change we both switched to).  So I went down to our new library and got her a copy of Julia Child’s classic cookbook and we started working through some of the recipes.  We even made a souffle–the first one I ever ate!

Now we’ve switched to a slightly similar project we call DAB.  It stands for: Doug, April, and Betty.  We are pouring through the Betty Crocker book we got for a wedding present and are opening our world up to all sorts of new recipes, altering some and chiseling others into the tablets of our family recipes book.

Improving yourself can happen in different ways from learning a musical instrument to becoming an expert in a subject, or just learning how to do something better.  Staying the same may be appealing to some, but as we age we should get better (like cheese).  Keep growing, and drifting in a positive direction.

Leave a Reply

